Articles

They’re attacking my tea with soy lecithin dammit!

In Reading Ingredients and Labels, Toxic Chemicals in Food, Toxic Food Additives on March 30, 2011 by organicconversion Tagged: , , , , ,

Soy Lecithin and Soya Lecithin: Are they dangerous to your health?

by Kristina Blasen (2011)

I love hot tea and as I was in the tea aisle at the grocery store the other day I started reading the ingredient lists and comparing the ingredients for the same kind of tea across different brands. You’d think they’d be the same, right? No, about half the brands had the expected ingredients, but the other half added “Soy Lecithin” which certainly doesn’t need to be in there!

Liquid Soya Lecithin

Liquid Soya Lecithin

I just read an interesting article on soy lecithin and whether or not it is good or bad for you. Either way, soy is becoming a cheap subsidized food crop in the US and it is being added to all kinds of foods that it has never been in before!

http://preventdisease.com/news/09/073009_soy_lecithin.shtml

If you’re allergic to soy, drinking what used to be herbal tea could make you sick, you even though they say the extraction process destroys the soy, people have gotten sick so I wouldn’t chance it!

For everyone else, well it “might” be okay, or it might cause nausea, hives, difficulty breathing and other bathroom funs.

Soya Lecithin

Soya Lecithin

The real danger is the toxic Hexane that is used to process soy lecithin into something a company can sell to make money. The “stuff” that is chemically turned into soy lecithin is a by-product of the soy manufacturing process that is often dehydrated and then recolored with chemicals to make it lighter so that it can be added to foods to make them “smoother” and to act as an emulsifier to keep foods like butter or cake mix from separating and to make the cleaning of manufacturing equipment faster (i.e. for the non-stick properties).

Does that sound like something that belongs in tea?

It isn’t something I want to eat, so why do we allow this stuff to stay in our food supply?

7 Responses to “They’re attacking my tea with soy lecithin dammit!”

  1. Great article Kristina. This is something people need to know. Sometimes we feel sick and we don’t even know why. Could it be the additives that are in our food. I have to watch what I eat, and drink because of Nitrates and MSG etc. Now this is another thing to watch for. Hmmmmmmmmmmmm!!! Food for thought.

  2. Thanks Margene! I hope that it reminds people to check the ingredients list and to look up the ones they don’t know instead of trusting that anything they can buy at the grocery store “must” be safe to consume!

  3. I drink a lot of tea and I noticed that all my herbal teas and the green teas have soy lecithin in them. Decided to do a Google search and see what I could find out. This is making me think, big time. I wonder if the stomach problems I have been having are because of my increase in the amount of green tea with lemon I have been drinking, that happens to contain soy. Tomorrow I will ask the dr. about it. Thank you for helping to answer my question.

  4. My husband and I both take soya lechitin capsules every morning. The ingredients listed are soy, glycerin and water. After reading above now I am wondering??? These capsules were mentioned to my husband many years ago for nerves.

  5. […] little searching got me to a blog post titled They’re attacking my tea with soy lecithin dammit! Apparently someone else had the same reaction I did. The real danger is the toxic Hexane that is […]

  6. Nice to know …My concern is the amount of soy isoflavins/flavanoids being consumed in one cup tea with added soy lecithin. People have been drinking tea for thousands of years without the added benefit of soy lecithin. And I might add, they have been getting the natural benefits of the tea without any soy lecithin. So why are they adding it now? Unfortunately, this manufactured soy lecithin goes through a lengthy manufacturing process. Ultimately, the final amount of isoflavins in my simple cup of green tea is much higher (80 mg per svg.) than the average Asian consumption which is only 45 mg per day from soy foods. If I drink 2 svgs a day of the Lipton Green with orange and passion fruit, I’m consuming 160 mg. a day! This is not healthy and not natural. Now that I know these unnecessary supplements are being put in certain teas, I’m switching to lose leaf. Why is it that a great thing has to be made better in the food industry? Why not just leave something tried and true alone. It’s already stood the test of time.

  7. I have a strong suspicion that the herbicide glysophate from the Monsanto folks may also enter the mix in so far as most green tea brands are concerned. There are a number of lecithin free teas out there & just to name a few: Novus Organic Jasmine Green, Earl Gray Green, Green Tea with mint, Organic Green/Pure Green and Organic Green Pomegranite & Acai.

Leave a Reply

