Articles

The “I’m too sick to be cooking, but I really need chicken soup” recipe…

In Budget Organic Food, Healthy Organic Recipes, Organic, Organic Foods, Organic Product Reviews on November 15, 2011 by organicconversion Tagged: , , ,

Ugh, yucky cold, I fought valiantly for a whole week and thought I’d beat that itchy scratchy throat and mysterious traveling body aches that signal an impending cold…shoulda gone to the Y and killed it in the sauna (works every time by the way), but I didn’t. Dawn killed hers with massive amounts of vitamin C- but no, I didn’t do that either! It was weird, I was fine, we made jam this weekend on Sunday afternoon and right after I got super tired all the sudden and then wham- full on cold- out of the blue.

I made homemade chicken noodle soup last night for everyone, but it was a super lazy I’m too sick to do much recipe…

 

“I’m too sick to be cooking, but I really need chicken soup recipe”

1 bag Organic Durum Wheat Noodles- Spirals

4 cups fancy mixed veggies (frozen) which included broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, yellow squash and green zucchini

2 pints Organic, free range Chicken broth by Swanson

1 teaspoon sea salt

4 frozen chicken breast tenders

 

My son who is 9 now got to cook the frozen chicken since I was too tired to stand there and watch it- I just came to check that it was cooked through and we had a nice talk about the difference between white and pink when cooking chicken…I microwaved the cut up pieces just in case.

I cooked the veggies in the broth, added the cut up cooked chicken and added all that to the cooked and drained noodles.

We both agreed that it needed salt so we added that after. He ate 4 bowls of it, I couldn’t believe it! I skipped the meat in my bowl, but the rest was good.

I’d call this a semi-organic recipe…most of mine are at this point, only because cost prohibits me from going 100% organic and I acquire organic stuff when I can!

 

 

Leave a Reply

