Articles

What is it safe to EAT!!??!!

In Organic on December 20, 2011 by organicconversion Tagged: , , , ,

What is it safe to EAT!!??!!

I wonder if anyone else is in the same boat as me…I’ve been so over-educated (or un-educated) with information about good foods, bad foods, reading labels and learning about eating healthier, but I find I can’t APPLY it in real life. That, and now I don’t know WHAT to eat anymore, but I do know that when I don’t have a plan it will be fast food or frozen dinner depending on what the money situation is at that moment.

It’s gotten to the point where you don’t know what food to eat any more other than plain organic vegetables just about every food has been attacked as unhealthy at some point and now even a few veggies are getting a bad-rap as having too many carbs or too much sugar or not enough vitamins.

In real life, my food choices are at the grocery store and fast-food or on a restaurant menu. The more expensive grocery stores are way out of my tiny food budget and going to the co-op would easily double what I spend on food though I know it would be better quality! It is hard to give up all fast food or restaurant visits in order to try to buy more organic and healthy foods when that sort of doubles as getting out of the house and family entertainment.

Nutritional Food Pilla mom’s fanstasy

I can cook, but I’ve found that I can’t follow any kind of food “plan” or menu for the week- which is weird because I used to back when I cooked dinner every night where it was meat+starch+veggie+bread over and over again.

As a single mom now, I feel like I don’t have the time and definitely don’t have the money to cook that way anymore which is why it looks more like frozen meal or cereal or PB&J night after night. (One reason this blog doesn’t get updated much lately!)

I get to fantasizing about a nutritional food pill that would take care of all the vitamin and mineral needs so I could spend those calories on junk food without the consequences!

FAST FOOD TEMPTATION

Anyway, as I ramble on, my goal lately has been to pay more attention to what I’m putting into by body when I’m in a hurry or stressed and make sure that I’d qualify it as recognizable food so basically cutting the really bad non-foods out first.

For example, on my list, sorry fast food places, but a hamburger (unless I made it at home and know the source of the meat) is…a no. The lettuce that is some strange pale greenish-white color, the tomato that isn’t red, but sort of white pink, the bun that is made of some strange bread-like spongy material…the meat with hard crunchy bits of bone in it. I have to learn to respect myself enough to say no.

Image from: http://www.thatsfit.com/2011/05/11/9-salads-calorically-worse-than-a-big-mac/

Also, if you eat a huge meal and then feel hungry an hour later (but that doesn’t happen when you cook at home) then you should consider whether something has been added or taken away from that food during processing or “preserving” to cause that effect!

S-U-G-A-R

Ah yes, and the monkey on my back needs to go, you probably know him- SUGAR. If you know me, you know I love sugar. I’m addicted to pretty much whatever has sugar in it. Sugar is in almost everything, so- yeah. This year, soda slunk back into my diet about the same time as I was working too late and always driving and ending up getting fast food because I was starving by that time. More non-food and headaches from it (or lack of it) too.

So, for now, if I’m eating fast food, the goal is to find the most food like options and avoid fast food with ZERO food like options.

3 Responses to “What is it safe to EAT!!??!!”

  1. Chemicals In Food: Your Number 1 Weight Loss Enemy

  2. I stumbled here coming from a different page and thought I ‘d check it out. I like what I see so now I’m following you.

  3. I needed to send you one little note to be able to say thanks once again for those unique ideas you’ve shared in this case. This has been simply shockingly open-handed with people like you to deliver openly what exactly many individuals would’ve marketed for an ebook in order to make some profit for their own end, particularly seeing that you might well have tried it in the event you considered it necessary. These advice in addition acted to be the great way to know that someone else have similar zeal just like my own to realize a good deal more concerning this matter. I am sure there are thousands of more enjoyable situations in the future for folks who read your website.

Leave a Reply

