Articles

Crockpot Organic Black-eyed Peas and Ham Stew (Recipe)

In Budget Organic Food, Healthy Organic Recipes, Organic, Organic Foods on December 31, 2011 by organicconversion Tagged: , , , , ,

Crockpot Organic Black-eyed Peas and Ham (Stew)

At my house the tradition is to make black eyed peas and ham as a stew in the crockpot and eat them on New Year’s Day for good luck in the new year. Actually, this is the same tradition I grew up with so my mom also makes black eyed peas and ham for the new year! Last year I ended up at three different stores looking for black eyed peas at the last minute because I thought I had some, but didn’t and I ended up with a few dusty cans in the end.

I remember one year I made it extra spicy since my best friend and roommate at the time liked his food a bit spicy, I added a bunch of cayenne pepper right at the end…and about killed us as our mouth caught fire since it floated on top and stuck to the roof of our mouth! Then there was the next year when I “experimented” by adding a little cinnamon…yeah, don’t so that! It had the worst after taste ever and most of that batch went down the disposal (after the obligatory good luck dish, of course!)

In Florida, so many people make some version of black eyed peas and Ham for New Years that they stock up with big displays and extra cans of black eyed peas at the checkout in the store, not so in Minnesota! Here, the little supply that is usually there is quickly dissipated by those Southern(ish) transplants like me. (I’m from Florida, but I think of Florida as its own entity rather than really “southern”.)

This year is the first year I’m making my recipe organic! I’ve got organic canned black eyed peas, but you can use dried if you’re less lazy than I’m feeling at the moment. I have organic canned tomatoes, organic minced garlic, sea salt, pepper (Do they make organic pepper? I should check it out next time I hit the natural food store- I know the regular grocery here doesn’t carry that!), regular pre-cooked ham (sadly I don’t have organic since this ham was given to me). That’s all the ingredients…I think…I’m making it in the crockpot in the morning tomorrow and leaving it to cook all day until dinner so I’ll update if I forgot anything!

If you’d ever seen me cook you’d know I don’t really use recipes and I just know how to do it and go by what tastes good and looks “right”…

Basic recipe:

  • 1 Ham (pre-cooked, bone in, can cut into large chunks to make it fit the crock pot you have)
  • 1 large can organic tomatoes, diced (stewed, whatever you have on hand)
  • 1 organic yellow onion (chopped)
  • 2 small cans black eyed peas (or one pre-soaked bag of dried black eyed peas)
  • Approximately 1 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon organic minced garlic
  • salt/pepper to taste

Put all ingredients into crockpot on high for 4 hours (min). Add additional water and stir as needed.

Hope you like it!

P.S. Here’s the pic, of course it doesn’t convey at all how tasty this was!

One Response to “Crockpot Organic Black-eyed Peas and Ham Stew (Recipe)”

  1. This turned out really good this year! I will say though that it didn’t really get the good flavor going where the ham flavor meshed well with the black eyed peas until it had been in the crockpot about 6 hours and it was awesome the next day! My 9 year old actually put it all together with only my directions, but all by himself, it’s that easy!

Leave a Reply

